The Maggies

Sign up for The Maggie Award for Excellence Newsletter — Keep up to date with important information about deadlines and finalists! 

The Maggie Award for Excellence has been given out by Georgia Romance Writers for over three decades. It is a highly respected award in the writing community.

Winners for the 2016 Published Maggie Awards Announced!

Winners for the 2016 Unpublished Maggie Awards Announced!

2016 Published Maggie Awards

Have your book judged by three booksellers and/or librarians. Tons of books pass through their hands and they know their stuff.

Traditional and Independent published authors are welcome. Your book must have a publication date of 2015 and you must be able to provide three bound, print copies.

Published Maggie Contest is NOW CLOSED!

Published Maggie Rules

Maggie Scoring Sheet (Judges Only)

2016 Unpublished Maggie Awards

Have the first few chapters and synopsis of your manuscript judged and critiqued by three published authors. The Finalists – top five – of each category will be sent out to an editor for final judgment.

NOTE:  If you are a published author, either traditional or self-published, with a book out of more than 40,000 words or more, you are ineligible for the Unpublished Maggies.

Unpublished Maggie Contest is NOW CLOSED!


Unpublished Maggie Rules


Unpublished Maggie Finalist Judges


Unpublished Maggie Entry Form


Final Round Judges for Unpublished Maggies

(Subject to change)

Contemporary Single Title Romance

Angela James

Editorial Director, Carina Press/Harlequin


Category/Short Romance

Laura Barth

Associate Editor, Harlequin


Inspirational Romance

Sarah Mason Rische

Senior Editor – Fiction, Tyndale House Publishers


Historical Romance

Nicole Fischer

Associate Editor, William Morrow/Avon


Paranormal/Fantasy Romance

Theresa Cole

Editor, Entangled Publishing


Young Adult Romance

Elizabeth Poteet

Editorial Assistant, St. Martin’s Press


 Novel with Strong Romantic Elements

Patience Bloom

Senior Editor, Harlequin


Romantic Novella

Cheryl Yeko

Senior Acquisitions Editor, Soul Mate Publishing