Sandra Chastain Volunteer Service Award

This award is named after chapter founder and all around amazing woman, Sandra Anglin Chastain. Short-term hard work doesn’t earn the award, but rather a body of hard work over a long period of time accompanied by enduring love for GRW. In order to earn this award, a member must meet the following criteria:

  • Have been a member for a minimum of three years
  • A recipient can’t have already earned the award (except for Sandra herself who has earned it twice!)
  • Immediate past presidents are ineligible
  • Must be a member in good standing of GRW and RWA

The Sandra award is given at the Maggie Ceremony during the Moonlight and Magnolia’s Conference after having been voted on by a special committee.

Committee Voting Requirements:

  • Former recipients of the award serve on the committee.
  • Must be members in good standing with RWA and GRW.
  • Only members in good standing who meet the eligibility requirements shall be notified that the selection process has begun.
  • Must attend at least 5 meetings per year (so as to be aware of who is volunteering).
  • Voting is done by secret ballot, and the results will be kept secret with only the committee chairperson and co-chair aware of the final results.
  • Maximum number of awards per year—no more than 3.

See Past Winners