Unpublished Maggie Contest

The purpose of the Unpublished Maggie Award for Excellence Published is to encourage, recognize, and reward the mastery of romance writing by unpublished authors of romantic fiction. The Maggie Award is a symbol of achievement given by the Georgia Romance Writers (GRW) to bring special attention to these writers. The Maggie, a silver medallion commissioned by GRW, receives national attention. Manuscripts will be scored by agents and editors in the publishing industry. The names and categories of Maggie recipients and finalists will appear in the Romance Writers Report.

Category Descriptions

Contest Rules

Entry Form

Sign up to judge the Unpublished Maggies (published authors only)

Scoring sheet (judges only)


2018 Final Round Judges for Unpublished Maggies

(Subject to change)

Contemporary Short Romance
Rosann Armstrong
Senior Editor, Wild Rose Press

Contemporary Romance
Jennie Conway
Editorial Assistant, St. Martin’s Press

Erotic Romance
Trish Owens
Editor, Wild Rose Press

Historical Romance
Norma Perez-Hernandez
Editorial Assistant, Kensington

Mainstream Fiction with a Central Romance

Margaret Johnston
Editorial Assistant, Sourcebooks & Sourcebooks Landmark

Paranormal Romance
Diana Gill
Executive Editor, Tor/Forge

Romance with Religious or Spiritual Elements
Becky Durost Fish
Editor,  Barbour Books

Romantic Suspense
Alexis Logan
Senior Editor, Grand Central Publishing

Young Adult / New Adult Romance
Lydia Sharp
Editor, Entangled Publishing